Receive midi info from Octatrack to update values

Successfully controlling all aspects of Octatrack that I’d like to. I have 2 PBF4 and 2 EN16. Apologies in advance for my next questions, I am a terrible programmer and haven’t done it since the dawn of the internet with some basic html lol.

On the rare occasion I would touch Octatrack settings for what I have mapped, I’d love to have those values sent to the Grid so there aren’t big jumps.

On the PBF4, for the Potentiometer and Fader, is there a way to set it up so that the mapped values on the Octatrack aren’t modified until i reach them with my PBF4? Or something similar to that?

The EN16 I imagine would be easier to set up as it’s encoder to encoder.

In the midi monitor I am receiving on the correct channel and also the correct CC, but for some reason I only get 1 or 2 values, and then it just stops. If I go to a different track on the Octa it starts sending again, but again will only get 1 or 2 values. This is just with the default, I have not coded anything into the Midi rx tab.

Super appreciate any help!!

1 Like

What you’re referring to is ‘MIDI takeover’. As none of the Elektron boxes have MIDI takeover settings or the ability to use relative values, this would need to be done on the Grid controllers. Yes, there is a way to code this on the Grid controllers but it requires some programming to get setup.

The OT would need to be transmitting those CC values out on the same channel that it receives them on. Then, you would use ‘midi_receive()’ programming to update those values for each of the Grid elements.